Penalties await for “squatted” drivers in South Carolina

Squat Truck


CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCBD) – South Carolina drivers who operate “squatted” vehicles will now face hundreds of dollars in fines and potentially lose driving privileges.

The “Carolina Squat” bill signed into law last year makes it illegal to significantly raise the front of a vehicle — most commonly a pickup truck — while lowering the back end.


READ MORE: South Carolina’s squatted truck ban goes into effect Nov. 12

Law enforcement began issuing warning citations after the law went into effect in November, but that will now change. Starting May 10, any driver found in violation will be ticketed.

Penalty violations according to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety are the following:

1st Offense – $100 fine

2nd Offense – $200 fine

3rd Offense – $300 fine and a license suspension by the Department of Motor Vehicles for 12 months from the date of conviction.

To learn more about the “Carolina Squat” law, click here.



This article was originally published by a www.wspa.com

Read it HERE

Share

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *