Kia EV3 teaser reveals brand’s commitment to an EV future

Kia EV3 teaser reveals brands commitment to an EV future


The Kia EV3 will continue the EV9’s EV legacy. Kia recently teased its upcoming EV3 compact electric SUV, revealing its commitment to an electric vehicle (EV) future. 

According to the South Korean automaker, the Kia EV3 was made with the brand’s ‘Opposites United’ design philosophy which has won the EV9 some awards. The Kia EV3 is expected to broaden the accessibility of EVs after the Asian automaker’s success with the EV6 and EV9. 

The Kia EV3 is expected to be based on the E-GMP platform, similar to its predecessors. It will be an affordable compact SUV EV that Kia hopes will lead to the popularization of EVs. 

Multiple automakers have seen a decline in EV sales since the beginning of the year. Even Tesla has commented on a slowing EV market. Some car manufacturers are turning to plug-in hybrid production to weather the current EV market. Meanwhile, Kia reported an EV increase of 151% in Q1 2024 compared to the previous year, sharing that EV9 sales helped with the achievement. 

Like Tesla, however, Kia is going against the grain and pushing forward with EV production. With the Kia EV3, the South Korean automaker will address one of the reasons the EV market has been plateauing: price. Motor 1 estimates that the Kia EV3 compact electric crossover could start at $32,000. Other automakers, including Tesla, are working toward launching an affordable EV that will cost around $25,000. 

The Kia EV3 will go on sale this year after its global world premiere on the Kia Worldwide YouTube channel on May 23 at 19:00 KST (10:00 GMT/12:00 CET).

If you have any tips, contact me at maria@teslarati.com or via X @Writer_01001101. 



This article was originally published by a www.teslarati.com

Read it HERE

Share

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *